Click Through Rate Calculator
When you're running campaigns to promote your business, one of the most important metrics to monitor is click through rate (CTR). Generating a high CTR means more potential customers engaging with your content.
Use the click through calculator below, to understand how customers are engaging with your marketing.
Click Through Rate Calculator
What is Click Through Rate?
Click through rate is a performance indicator that measures the effectiveness of your online content. It's the percentage of users who click on a specific link, advert or call to action button compared to all the people who saw your content.
In other words, click-through rate is like a digital popularity vote - the higher the percentage, the better.
Why is CTR so Important?
Imagine you own a small online business, that specialises in handmade jewellery. You've spent many hours creating a beautifully designed email template to promote your latest collection.
Within this email, you add a call to action button, to tempt readers to click on a link, taking them to your online store.
The success of your campaign revolves around how customers engage with your email, which is measured using CTR.
A higher click-through rate, leads to more potential customers landing on your site, significantly boosting the likelihood of conversion.
How to Calculate CTR?
Calculating CTR is straightforward, and expressed as a percentage. You can use the following formula:
- Number of clicks: represents the total number of times a user clicks on a link, CTA or advert.
- Number of impressions: the total number of times your link, CTA or advert was seen by your users.
Here's an example.
Imagine you've ran a social media ad campaign that delivered 100,000 impressions and generated 5,000 clicks. To calculate your CTR:
CTR = (5,000 / 100,000) x 100 = 5
So, in this example, your click-through rate is 5%. This means 5% of the people who saw your content engaged with it.
What is considered a good CTR?
A good click through rate can vary depending on the industry and platform.
Generally, a CTR of 2-5% is considered average for online advertising. However, higher CTRs in the range of 5-10% are what you should be aiming for.
Learn how to Increase your Click-Through Rate
Learn how to boost your CTR with these effective strategies:
- CTAs: Instead of using a plain "Learn More" button, try something more enticing like, "Discover the Secrets of Success". More on that in CTA optimization post.
- A/B tests: experiment with different ad designs, copy and placement to see what resonates with your audience. Learn the key principles of AB testing.
Conclusion
Utilise the click through rate calculator, to gain valuable insights into user engagement with your online content.
Settup was created to share best practice around how to turn website clicks into customers.